HomeOats for BreakfastFort KochiTravel BlogKuttanadFishingChristianityEasy RecipesR & RAgency TourWalkathonFunny QuotesMet UTSAV '07Sweet HomeMy VideosVishuInsuranceOnam 2010SangamamMy Clicks !SCMS-XITravelogueFamily TripArthunkalK' KulangaraSystemsMotivationChak DeAleppeyArakkal FamilyAbout me

Christianity is a monotheistic religion centered on the life and teachings of Jesus of Nazareth as presented in the New Testament. In theology, monotheism is the belief in the existence of one deity, or in the oneness of God. 
Its followers, known as Christians, believe that Jesus is the Son of God and the Messiah (or Christ) prophesied in the Old Testament, the part of their scriptures they have in common with Judaism. To Christians, Jesus Christ is a teacher, the model of a pious life, the revealer of God, and most importantly the saviour of humanity who suffered, died, and was resurrected in order to bring about salvation from sin. 

Christians maintain that Jesus ascended into heaven, and most denominations teach that Jesus will return to judge the living and the dead, granting everlasting life to his followers. Christians describe the New Testament account of Jesus' ministry as the Gospel, or "good news". The history of Christianity concerns the Christian religion and the Christian Church, from Jesus and his twelve Apostles to contemporary times. Christianity is the trinitarian monotheistic religion which is based on the revelation of Jesus Christ. 

In many Christian denominations "The Church" is understood theologically as the institution founded by Jesus for the salvation of humankind. 

. The Twelve Apostles (Greek:ðüóôïëïò, apostolos, "someone sent out", e.g. with a message or as a delegate) were, according to the Synoptic Gospels (i.e., the Gospels of Matthew, Mark and Luke) and Christian tradition, disciples (followers) whom Jesus of Nazareth had chosen, named, and trained in order to send them on a specific mission. After the Apostle Judas Iscariot had betrayed Jesus, the remaining Apostles under the leadership of Simon Peter filled the vacancy by electing by lot Matthias, a companion of theirs ever since they themselves had followed Jesus, so that by the time of the coming of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost they actually numbered twelve again. 

The Twelve Apostles The four Gospels give varying names of the twelve. According to the list occurring in each of the three Synoptic Gospels (Mark 3:13-19, Matthew 10:1-4, Luke 6:12-16), the Twelve chosen by Jesus near the beginning of his ministry, those whom also He named Apostles, were, according to the Gospels of Mark and Matthew:

1. Peter: Renamed by Jesus, his original name was Simon (Mark 3:16); was a fisherman from the Bethsaida "of Galilee" (John 1:44, cf. John 12:21). Also known as Simon bar Jonah, Simon bar Jochanan (Aram.), Cephas (Aram.), and Simon Peter.

2. James, son of Zebedee: The brother of John. 

3. John: The brother of James. Jesus named both of them Bo-aner'ges, which means "sons of thunder".(Mark 3:17

4. Andrew: The brother of Simon/Peter, a Bethsaida fisherman, and a former disciple of John the Baptist. 

5. Philip: From the Bethsaida of Galilee (John 1:44, John 12:21

6. Bartholomew, son of Talemai: It has been suggested that he is the same person as Nathanael, who is mentioned in John 1:45-51. 

7. Matthew: The tax collector. 

8. Thomas: Also known as Judas Thomas Didymus - Aramaic T'oma' = twin, and Greek Didymous = twin. 

9. James, son of Alphaeus: Generally identified with "James the Less", and also identified by Roman Catholics with "James the Just". 

10. Thaddeus: In some manuscripts of Matthew, the name "Lebbaeus" occurs in this place. Thaddeus is traditionally identified with Jude; see below. 

11. Simon the Zealot: Some have identified him with Simeon of Jerusalem.

12. Judas Iscariot: The disciple who later betrayed Jesus. (Mark 3:19) The name Iscariot may refer to the Judaean towns of Kerioth or to the sicarii (Jewish nationalist insurrectionists), or to Issachar. Also referred to as "Judas, the son of Simon" (John 6:71 and John 13:26). He was replaced as an apostle shortly after Jesus' resurrection by Matthias.

Deaths of the Twelve Apostles.

The Twelve Judas Iscariot, originally one of the Twelve, died after the death of Jesus. Matthew 27:5 says that he hanged himself, and Acts
says that he fell, burst open, and his "bowels gushed out." Matthias was elected to take his place as one of the Twelve.

According to Christian tradition:
Peter, crucified upside-down in Rome circa 64 A.D.

James, son of Zebedee was beheaded in 44 A.D., first of the twelve to die

John, son of Zebedee, natural causes due to old age,last of the twelve to die, only one of the twelve to die naturally

Andrew, Peter's brother, was crucified.

Philip was crucified in 54 A.D.

Bartholomew was crucified.

Matthew killed by a halberd in 60 A.D.

Thomas was killed by a spear.

James, son of Alphaeus, beaten to death by a club after being crucified and stoned.

Saint Jude was crucified.

Simon the Zealot was crucified in 74 A.D.

Matthias was stoned and beheaded.

The 10 Commandments

1.I am the Lord your God.You shall have no other gods before me

2.You shall not make for yourself an idol

3.You shall not make wrongful use of the name of your God

4.Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy

5.Honor your father and mother

6.You shall not murder

7.You shall not commit adultery

8.You shall not steal

9.You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor

10.You shall not covet your neighbor's house or neighbor's wife

© 2013 Roopesh Arakkal